لمشاركة كاملة للمرأة في حل النزاعات وبناء السلام

مبادرة من Kvinna till Kvinna

جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية

أسباب النزاع

حصلت جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية (زائير سابقاً)،على استقلالها في عام 1960، وقد كانت من قبل مستعمرة بلجيكية. هيمن العقيد موبوتو على السلطة لمدة 32 عاماً، ولكن تمت اﻻطاحة به عام 1997 واستولى لوران ديزيريه كابيلا على السلطة بدعم من رواندا وأوغندا.

وفي عام 1998 اندلع صراع مسلح آخر بين القوات الموالية لنظام كابيلا وقوات كونغولية الأخرى تدعمها رواندا وأوغندا. وتدخلت قوات أخرى من أنغولا وتشاد وناميبيا والسودان، وزيمبابوي لدعم نظام كابيلا. وقد تم التوقيع على وقف لاطلاق النار في عام 1999 ,لكن استمر القتال بشكل متقطع طوال هذه الفترة.

في عام 2001 تم اغتيال لوران كابيلا وتم تنصيب ابنه جوزيف كابيلا رئيساً للدولة. وفي أعقاب انسحاب القوات الاجنبية التي تحتل شرق الكونغو في عام 2002، والتوقيع على اتفاقات بريتوريا من جانب جميع الأطراف المتحاربة المتبقية، تم تعيين حكومة انتقالية في عام 2003. وقد تمت الموافقة على دستور جديد للبلاد في عام 2005، واجريت الانتخابات، وتم انتخاب جوزيف كابيلا رئيساً للدولة في عام 2006. وقد تحسن الوضع الأمني ​​منذ ذلك الحين، على الرغم من بعض القلاقل الأمنية المتبقية بصورة رئيسية في مقاطعات كيفو في الجزء الشرقي من البلاد. وقد تم نشر بعثة من الأمم المتحدة فى عامي 1999 لا تزال تعمل في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية حتى اﻵن. ووفقاً للجنة الإنقاذ الدولية (IRC) ، فقد فقد أكثر من 5 ملايين شخص حياتهم منذ بدء النزاع المسلح فى عام 1998، مات غالبيتهم من جراء المجاعات أو نقص الرعاية الصحية.

مشاركة المرأة في عمليات السلام

نشطت العديد من منظمات وشبكات المرأة في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية فى مجال منع وتسوية النزاع على المستويين الجزئي والكلي. وشاركت المرأة الكونغولية على المستوى الرسمي مثلاً فى أعمال مؤتمر الحوار الكونغولي عام 2001 والذى كان من نتائجه التوصل إلى اتفاقات بريتوريا. وقامت الوفود الممثلة فى هذا المؤتمر بتنسيق شبكة من منظمات المرأة أمكنها التوصل إلى الصياغات المتعلقة بالعنف ضد المرأة في هذا الاتفاق. ولكن تميزت مفاوضات السلام الأخيرة في منطقة كيفو بتدني نسبة تمثيل المرأة فى هذه المفاوضات. فوصلت نسبة مشاركة المرأة في مفاوضات السلام في غوما في عام 2008 إلى 5% فقط.

تأثير النزاع على أوضاع المرأة

انتشر العنف الجنسي أثناء الصراع الدائر في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، ,ولا تزال ظاهر شائعة الحدوث حتى يومنا هذا. وحسب رأى البعض قد استمر فى الزيادة بعد عام 2006، كما يرتفع بشكل كبير عند تزايد اﻻنفﻻت الأمنى والعنف المسلح. وتشترك جميع الأطراف فى ارتكاب العنف الجنسي: الجماعات المسلحة، بما في ذلك الميليشيات المختلفة (متمردي الهوتو، ميليشيات الماي ماي، جيش الرب للمقاومة، الخ)، وقوات أمن الدولة (القوات المسلحة)، والشرطة الوطنية الكونغولية. وقد زادت أعمال العنف القائم على التمييز الجنسى كذلك في الحياة العامة نظراً ﻻعتياد حدوث جرائم العنف الجنسي وتسريح الجنود.

ﻻ تتوفر أرقام لتقدير عدد حالات الاغتصاب في هذا الصراع. حيث تعيش العديد من الضحايا بالمناطق النائية والعديد كما يخشين من وصمة العار والخوف من انتقام الجناة. كما ﻻ يتوفرنظام عام للإبلاغ عن هذه الجرائم. لكن تبلغ تقديرات الضحايا في عداد عشرات الآلاف من النساء.

تجنيد المرأة فى صفوف المقاتلين

اشتركت المرأة في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية في الجيش الوطني منذ عام 1966، لكن تم تجنيد العديد منهم أثناء النزاعات التى نشبت في أواخر التسعينات. وكما تم تجنيد المرأة كذلك فى صفوف المقاتلين، سواء قسراً أو طوعاً، في الفصائل المسلحة المختلفة. وكثيراً ما يتم استغلالهن فيما يسمى بظاهرة زوجات المقاتلين ، فيتم اختطافهن على يد الفصائل المسلحة ومعملتهن معاملة العبيد.

ولقد تم التغاضي عن احتياجات المقاتلات إلى حد كبير في عملية (نزع السلاح والتسريح وإعادة الإدماج) DDR ، ولا سيما من خلال اشتراط حمل السلاح للسماح بالتسريح من الجيش. حيث تقوم المقاتلات بمشاركة أسلحتهن في كثير من الأحيان مع المقاتلين من الرجال أو بتسليم اﻻسلحة لهم. وغالبا ما تتبع أسر الجنود في الجيش الوطني إلى خط الجبهة. حيث يقمن بإدارة الإمدادات والتجهيز والمواد الغذائية، خوفاً من فقدان الدخل أو من اتخاذ أزواجهن لزوجات أخرى غيرهن . ويسبب هذا عواقب إنسانية وخيمة في كثير من الأحيان على الأسر المصاحبة، بسبب التنقل المستمر، وعدم توفر الغذاء وفقر الخدمات الصحية مما يسبب أمراض خطيرة. كما ينتشر كذلك العنف والبغاء على نطاق واسع في المجتمعات العسكرية.

ويزداد في مناطق النزاع في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية أيضا البغاء والمتاجرة بالجنس. وتختلف خلفية النساء والفتيات المنخرطات في هذه اﻷنشطة. فالبعض منهم من ضحايا العنف الجنسي ممن تخلت عنهم أسرهن، ويترتبط بعضهن مع أعضاء من الجماعات المسلحة المختلفة وتم اهمالهن أثناء مرحلة نزع السلاح والتسريح وإعادة الإدماج، وبالتالي لم يحصلن على أي مساعدة، ووفقد البعض اﻵخر منهم أحد أفراد أسرهن فى النزاع، الخ . ولقد أدت زيادة وجود الموظفين الدوليين، ولا سيما من قوات حفظ السلام (بعثة الأمم المتحدة / MONUSCO) إلى زيادة فرصهم فى البقاء على قيد الحياة ومن ثم التجارة باجسادهن من أجل الحصول على الأمن، والغذاء، أو لإعالة أسرهن.

السلطة وعملية صنع القرار

ونتيجة لهذا النزاع، زاد عدد الأسر التي تعولها المرأة، واهتزت قليلاً الأدوار اﻻجتماعية للجنسين . ورغم كل ذلك، يتم استبعاد المرأة من عملية صنع القرار على جميع المستويات في المجتمع. ويعد التمثيل المتدني جدً للمرأة في مختلف الهيئات التشريعية والمناصب العليا توضيحاً لهذه الحقيقة . وتبين النتائج الاولية للانتخابات البرلمانية الاخيرة ، التي تمإجراءها في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني من عام 2011، أن 44 مقعد فقط من 424 مقعدا تم فرزها حتى الآن (من أصل 500) قد ذهبن إلى المرأة. أما في مجالس الشعب المحلية فقد ذهب 43 مقعداً أو %6،8 من أصل 632 مقعداً إلى النساء. وفي مقاطعة كيفو التي تمزقها الناتزاع حصل المرأة على مقعد واحد من أصل 42 مقعداً في منطقة شمال كيفو و 3 مقاعد من أصل 33 مقعداً في منطقة جنوب كيفو.

For women’s full participation in conflict resolution and peacebuilding

An initiative from Kvinna till Kvinna

DR Congo

The conflict

The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), a former Belgian colony, gained its independence in 1960. For 32 years Colonel Mobutu was in power, but he was ousted in 1997 and Laurent Kabila seized power with the support of Rwanda and Uganda.

Democratic Republic of CongoPopulation: 64 204 000

Average lifetime: 48 years

Infant mortality rate: 113/1000

Literacy: Women 56,1 %, Men 77,5 %


UNESCO statistics 2009

In 1998 another armed conflict erupted between troops loyal to Kabila’s regime and other Congolese forces supported by Rwanda and Uganda. Troops from Angola, Chad, Namibia, the Sudan, and Zimbabwe intervened to support Kabila’s regime. A ceasefire was signed in 1999 but sporadic fighting continued.

Laurent Kabila was assassinated in 2001 and his son Joseph Kabila was named head of state. Following a negotiated withdrawal of foreign forces occupying Eastern Congo in 2002, and the signing of the Pretoria accords by all remaining warring parties, a transitional government was set up in 2003. A new constitution was approved in 2005, elections were held, and Joseph Kabila was inaugurated president in 2006. The general security situation has improved since, despite remaining insecurity mainly in the Kivu provinces in the Eastern part of the country. A UN mission, MONUC/MONUSCO, was deployed in 1999 and is still present in the DRC. According to the International Rescue Committee (IRC), more than 5 million people have died since the start of the 1998s armed conflict, the majority from starvation or lack of health care.

Women’s participation in the peace processes

In the DRC, many women’s organizations networks have been active in conflict prevention and conflict resolution on both a micro and macro level. Congolese women have been active in formal arenas like the Dialogue Inter-Congolaise 2001 that led on to the Pretoria accords. In the later the women delegates, coordinated in the network Caucus des femmes, among other things managed to get formulations on violence against women into the agreement. The recent peace negotiations in the Kivu region have however had a low representation of women. In the peace negotiations in Goma in 2008 only 5 percent of the participants were women.

How has the conflict affected women?

Sexual violence has been very common in the conflict in DRC, and it still is very common today. It has continued – some say even increased – after 2006 and always rise drastically in times of hightened insecurity and armed violence. Sexual violence is, and has been, committed by all parties: armed groups, including the various militia groups (FDLR, Mai-Mai militias, CNDP, LRA, etc), the State security forces (FARDC), and the Police National Congolaise. Gender based violence has also increased in the civil sphere due to normalization of sexual violence and the demobilization of soldiers.

There are no figures available that can assess the number of cases of rape in this conflict. Many survivors live in inaccessible areas and many are afraid to report because of the stigma and fear of revenge from the perpetrators. There is also no common coordinated reporting system. But estimates talk in numbers of tens of thousands.

Female combatants

Women in the DRC have been in the national army since 1966, but many more were recruited during the conflicts in the late 1990s. Women were also combatants, both forced and voluntary, in the various armed fractions. Often they’ve been used as so called soldiers wives, i e have been abducted by armed forces and kept under slavelike conditions.

The needs of women combatants were largely overlooked in the DDR (Disarmament, Demobilization and Reintegration) process, especially through the requirement that one must carry a gun in order to be demobilized. Women often share their weapons or hand them over to male combatants. The families of soldiers in the national army often follow them to the front line. They take care of logistics and food service, in fear of loosing income or their husband taking another wife. This often has dire humanitarian consequences for the accompanying families, due to the constant moving, the lack of food and poor hygiene facilities causing severe illnesses. Violence and prostitution is also widespread in the military communities.

In the areas of conflict in the DRC, there has also been an increase in prostitution and transactional sex. The background of the women and girls engaging in this vary. Some are survivors of sexual violence that have been abandoned (link) by their families, some have been associated with different armed groups but overseen in the DDR process and therefore have gotten no help and some have families that have been killed in the conflict, etc. The increased presence of international staff, in particular the peace-keeping troops (MONUC/MONUSCO) has also triggered an increase in survival and transactional sex – Congolese women trading their bodies for food, security or to be able to provide for their families. For more information on this see Security on whose terms?

Power and decision-making

As a consequence of the conflict female-headed households have increased, and gender roles have been shaken a bit. But even so, women are more or less excluded from decision-making on all levels in society. A statement to that fact is the very low representation of women in different legislative bodies and in senior positions. Preliminary results of the latest election to parliament, that was held in November 2011, shows that of the 424 (out of 500) seats counted so far only 44 have gone to women. Of the 632 seats in local people’s assemblies 43, or 6,8 percent, went to women. In the conflict-ridden Kivu provinces the numbers are 1 women out of 42 seats in North Kivu and 3 women out of 33 seats in South Kivu.