لمشاركة كاملة للمرأة في حل النزاعات وبناء السلام

مبادرة من Kvinna till Kvinna

ناغورنو كاراباخ

أسباب النزاع
بعد توسع القوات البلشفية فى منطقة جنوب القوقاز في عام 1920، تم تأسيس اقليم ناغورنو كاراباخ كمنطقة حكم ذاتي داخل حدود جمهورية أذربيجان السوفيتية الاشتراكية. ويسكن الاقليم مجموعات عرقية مختلفة، ويمثل الأرمن أكبر مجموعة عرقية بهذا الاقليم.  في عام 1988 صوت النواب الأرمن فى مجلس النواب السوفيتى في ناغورني كاراباخ لضم المنطقة لجمهورية أرمينيا السوفيتية مما أدى إلى تزايد التوترات ونشوب العنف بين الجماعات العرقية من الأرمن والأذربيجانيين فى كلا الجمهوريتين.

في عام 1991 أعلنت كل من أذربيجان وأرمينيا استقلالهما عن الاتحاد السوفياتي، الذي تم حله رسمياَ في ديسمبر 1991.  وفي وقت لاحق من العام نفسه أعلن الأرمن من سكان ناغورنو كاراباخ استقلالهم وأعلنوا عن قيام دولة جديدة منفصلة عن أذربيجان بعد عقد استفتاء تم مقاطعته من قبل  الأذربيجان القاطنين بالإقليم. وقد أدلت الأغلبية الساحقة من الناخبين بأصواتهم لصالح قيام جمهورية مستقلة في ناغورنو كاراباخ مما أدى إلى نشوب النزاع المسلح حول ناغورنو كاراباخ ما بين أرمينيا وأذربيجان ولقد تم قتل الآلاف وتشريد مئات الآلاف من الأشخاص بسبب هذا النزاع.

في مايو 1994 تم الاتفاق على وقف اطلاق النار من خلال وساطة روسية، ولكن ذلك لم يعنى حلول السلام بالمنطقة . وتمكن الأرمن من السيطرة على كل من ناغورني كاراباخ والمناطق المجاورة لأذربيجان. ومنذ ذلك الحين دخلت أرمينيا وأذربيجان فى مفاوضات تحت وساطة من ما يسمى بمجموعة مينسك التابعة لمنظمة الأمن والتعاون في أوروبا OSCE (برئاسة الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وروسيا وفرنسا. لا تزال حوادث متفرقة لإطلاق النار تقع على الحدود بين أرمينيا وأذربيجان وعلى طول خط التماس لناغورنو كاراباخ وتشير التقارير أيضا إلى وقوع حوادث من جراء انفجار الألغام.  ولم يتم الاعتراف باقليم ناغورنو كاراباخ كدولة مستقلة من قبل أي دولة آخرى، بما في ذلك أرمينيا. ويعتبر الإقليم جزء من أراضي أذربيجان المعترف بها دولياً.

مشاركة المرأة في عمليات السلام
يعتبر تمثيل المرأة في مستويات صنع القرار في المؤسسات الوطنية والإقليمية والدولية وكذلك ضمن الآليات اللازمة لإدارة وتسوية النزاع في المنطقة منخفض للغاية. وقد اتسمت عملية السلام فى كاراباخ بسيادة الأدوار التقليدية للجنسين، حيث استحوذ الرجال على عملية  اتخاذ القرارات فيما يتعلق بالنزاع وكذلك أثناء الوساطة التى قامت بها مجموعة مينسك. وكان عدد النساء في الوفود الممثلة لكلا الجانبي قليلة للغاية.

وهذا وقد تركزت أنشطة المنظمات النسائية على مستوى أدنى، تمثل فى الترتيب لاجتماعات عبر جهتى النزاع وتشجيع الحوار بين النساء الأرمينيات والأذربيجانيات. فمن المهم أن يتم بناء التضامن بين النساء وإيجاد أرضية مشتركة في الحياة اليومية لتطبيع العلاقات ورفع تركيز عن الانقسامات العرقية.وتسعى المنظمات النسائية أيضا إلى إشراك المرأة في عمليات صنع القرارات التي تحدد شروط السلام وإشراك المزيد من النساء في محادثات السلام الرسمية. ولكن لا يزال عدد النساء من الناشطات مئات ولم تصل بعد الحركة النسائية السلام إلى كتلة حرجة.

تأثيرالنزاع على أوضاع المرأة

لقد كان تأثير النزاع على الوضع الاقتصادي مدمراً، حتى لو كان قد تحسن إلى حد ما خلال السنوات الأخيرة. فلقد تأثر الاقتصاد فى أرمينيا من جراء غلق الحدود مع تركيا وأذربيجان. ويعانى السكان بشكل خاص في المناطق الريفية، فيضطر الكثير من الرجال في الغالب إلى السفر للعمل  فى الخارج ويعمل النساء في المنطقة فى عدة وظائف للتمكن من إعالة أسرهم.

وتعتبرالنساء من أكثر الفئات المتضررة من النزاعات. وتشمل هذه الفئات الآفراد المشردين داخليا واللاجئين والنساء التى تم اغتصابها خلال النزاع والأشخاص المعوقين نتيجة للصراع وكثيراً ما يفتقر النساء اللواتي ينتمين إلى الفئات المتضررة كثيرا ما تفتقر إلى فرص التعليم والصحة والعمل والسكن وليس لديهم وعي بحقوقهم.

و كنتيجة للنزاع فقد تعرض اقليم ناغورنو كاراباخ للانعزال من  الأعمال التنموية ، بما في ذلك العمل على تعزيز حقوق المرأة.

الحياة السياسة وعملية صنع القرار

تعتبر مستويات مشاركة المرأة متدنية للغاية في منطقة جنوب القوقاز فيما يتعلق بالحياة السياسية والعامة، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بتمثيلها في هيئات صنع القرار مثل المجالس الوطنية، والحكومات، والسلك الدبلوماسي، والبلديات الاقليمية والمحلية وعلى المستوى الأعلى من السلطة القضائية. ويهيمن على المجال السياسي نخبة سياسية صغير. لذلك. تحاول العديد من النساء إيجاد قاعدة لهم في الجمعيات الغير حكومية وعن طريق العمل  بالمنظمات الأهلية، بدلا من الخوض في السياسة والترشيح للانتخابات.

العنف القائم على أساس النوع اﻻجتماعى

لا يحوز لعنف الجنسي والعنف القائم على نوع الجنس ضد النساء والفتيات في جنوب القوقاز على الاعتراف الكامل، ولكن تم إحراز بعض التقدم في المجال التشريعي وفى طريقة عمل الشرطة. ووفقا للجمعيات المرأة ومنظمات حقوق الإنسان فهناك زيادة ملموسة عدد حالات العنف القائم على نوع الجنس التي يتم بحثها من قبل المجتمع وفي وسائل الإعلام. وهناك أيضا زيادة فى الوعي بين النساء بأن العنف في أشكال مختلفة شىء ليس عليهم قبوله. ويتزايد باستمرار عدد النساء والمنظمات النسائية العمل التى تعمل على مواجهة العنف ضد النساء والفتيات، ولا سيما العنف المنزلي، وظاهرة اختطاف الفتيات بهدف الزواج والزواج المبكر.

الرأى السائد حول دور المرأة في منطقة النزاع هو أنها مكانها بالمنزل وهناك إمكانية ضئيلة أو معدومة لنشاط المرأة. ويركز العمل لتحسين حقوق المرأة بشكل رئيسي على توفير الأمن للمرأة وزيادة وعي المرأة بحقوقها.

وقد أدى النزاع أيضا إلى ظهور مشاكل أخرى مثل الاتجار بالنساء لأغراض الاستغلال الجنسي وتعتبر .كل من أرمينيا وأذربيجان والبلدان من الدول التى يتم بها استقطاب الفتيات، أو تستخدم كمناطق عبور.

ومن الدلائل الواضحة على تدنى وضع المرأة في المنطقة هو العدد المتزايد من حالات الإجهاض الانتقائي للإناث. مما أدى  في عام 2011 إلى اتخاذ قرار في الجمعية البرلمانية لمجلس أوروبا، يدين عمليات الإجهاض الانتقائي، كما دعت أرمينيا وأذربيجان وألبانيا) لإجراء تحقيق ومراقبة الوضع، وتقديم الدعم المبادرات رفع الوعي بهذه المشكلة.

النازحين والمشردين داخليا

واحدة من النتائج الرئيسية للنزاع حول ناغورنو كاراباخ هو تشريد مئات الآلاف من الناس كمشردين داخلياً ولاجئين.

ولقد عاش الأرمن والأذربيجانيين قبل هذا صراع معاً وضمت كلا الجمهوريتين أقليات كبيرة من المجموعة العرقية الأخرى. ونظراَ لتصاعد التوتر بين الجماعتين العرقيتين في أواخر 1980 تم البدء فى تبادل السكان ، بإقرار من السلطات السوفياتية. وعندما اندلعت الحرب وبدأت موجات العنف تنقل اللاجئون بين الدولتين. ولا يزال عدد كبير من النازحين واللاجئين يعيشون في مساكن مؤقتة وفي ظروف بالغة القسوة.

وتسعى منظمات المرأة جاهدة لدمج النازحين واللاجئين من النساء في المجتمع المحلي، وتوفير التدريب لهم لمنحهم فرص للمساواة في سوق العمل ورصد وتمثيل حقوقهم. كما يعملن أيضاً لمواجهة المرارة والرغبة فى الانتقام، واضطرابات ما بعد الصدمة.

وحيث أن منطقة ناغورنو كاراباخ هى منطقة انفصالية غير معترف بها دولياً، لا تتواجد لها إحصاءات رسمية. ويقدرعدد السكان بهذه المنطقة بحوالى 140000 ألف نسمة.

For women’s full participation in conflict resolution and peacebuilding

An initiative from Kvinna till Kvinna

Nagorno Karabakh

The conflict

Nagorno KarabakhSince it’s a breakaway region and non-recognized state, there are no official statistics on Nagorno Karabakh.

The population is estimated to around 140 000.

After the Bolsheviks’ expansion into South Caucasus in the 1920s, Nagorno Karabakh was established as an autonomous region within the Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic.Nagorno Karabakh was inhabited by people of different ethnicities, but the largest group was Armenians. In 1988 the Armenian deputies in the local soviet assembly of Nagorno Karabakh voted to unite the region with Soviet Armenia. Tensions grew between Armenians and Azerbaijanis and inter-ethnic violence took place in both republics.

In 1991 Azerbaijan and Armenia declared independence from the Soviet Union, which was formally dissolved in December 1991. Later the same year Armenians in Nagorno Karabakh declared independence as a new state separate from Azerbaijan and held a referendum on independence. The referendum was boycotted by local Azerbaijanis. An overwhelming majority of the voters casted their ballots in favor of an independent Republic of Nagorno Karabakh. Shortly after that an armed conflict over Nagorno Karabakh broke out between Armenia and Azerbaijan. Thousands of people were killed and hundreds of thousands were displaced due to the conflict.

Armenia and AzerbaijanArmenia

Population: 3 085 000

Average lifetime: 74

Infant mortality rate: 18/1000

Literacy: Women 99,4 %, Men 99,7 %

 

Azerbaijan

Population: 8 998 000

Average lifetime: 70

Infant mortality rate: 41/1000

Literacy: Women 99,2 %, Men 99,8 %

 

UNESCO statistics 2009

In May 1994 a ceasefire came into effect through Russian mediation, but there was no peace. Armenians were in control of both Nagorno Karabakh and bordering Azerbaijani regions. Armenia and Azerbaijan have held negotiations since then, under mediation of the so called Minsk group (chaired by USA, the Russian Federation and France) from the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE). Sporadic outbursts of gunfire are still taking place along the border between Armenia and Azerbaijan and along the line of contact to Nagorno Karabakh and there have also been reports of accidents with mines. Nagorno Karabakh has not been recognized as an independent state by any other country, including Armenia. The region is part of the internationally recognized territory of Azerbaijan.

Women’s participation in the peace proces

The representation of women in decision-making levels in national, regional and international institutions and mechanisms for the management and resolution of the conflicts in the region is very low. The Karabakh peace process has been characterized by traditional gender roles, with men making decisions in the conflict as well as in the mediating OSCE Minsk group. The number of women in the delegations representing either side in the Minsk process is limited.

Women’s organizations have been active on a lower level, arranging meetings across conflict lines and encouraging dialogue between Armenian and Azerbaijani women. Building up solidarity between women and finding common ground in daily life is important in normalising relations and lifting the focus above the ethnic divisions. The women’s organisations also strive for women’s inclusion in decision-making processes that determine the peace conditions and getting more women involved in official peace talks. But the number of active women can still be counted in hundreds and the women’s peace movement has not yet reached a critical mass.

How has the conflict affected women?

The conflict’s effect on the economic situation has been devastating, even if it has recovered to a certain degree during the last years. The Armenian economy is strained due to the closed borders with Turkey and Azerbaijan. The situation is particularly harsh in rural areas and many, predominately men, work abroad. Many women in the region have several jobs to be able to support their families.

Women from conflict affected groups (all people affected by the conflicts in the region) are in a particularly vulnerable situation. This includes internally displaced persons (IDPs), refugees, women raped during conflict and persons that are invalids as a result of the conflict. Women belonging to conflict affected groups often lack access to education, employment, health and housing and have no awareness of their rights.

Due to the conflict, the breakaway region of Nagorno Karabakh is isolated from much development work, including work to strengthen women’s rights.

Politics and decision-making

Women’s participation in political and public life, especially with respect to their representation in decision-making bodies like national assemblies, governments, diplomatic services, regional and local municipalities and the high level of judiciary is very low in the South Caucasus region. The political sphere is dominated by small power elites. Instead many women try to find their base in the non-governmental sphere, working for organizations, rather than going into politics and run for election.

Gender-based violence

The occurrence of sexual and gender-based violence against women and girls is not a fully acknowledged problem in South Caucasus, but progress has been made within the legislative area and in police work. According to women’s and human rights organizations there is an increase in gender-based violence being scrutinised by society and in the media. There is also a greater awareness among women that violence in different forms is not something they have to accept. Increasingly more women and women’s organizations work to counteract violence against women and girls, in particular domestic violence, bride abduction and early marriages.

A common view on women in the conflict region is that they should stay at home and there is little or no tolerance for women’s activity. The work to improve women’s rights is mainly focused on provision on safe places for women and to increase women’s awareness of their rights.

The conflict has also brought about problems such as trafficking in women for sexual exploitation. Both Armenia and Azerbaijan are target countries for the recruitment of girls, or are used as areas for transit.

A clear evidence of women’s low status in the region is the increasing numbers of sex selective abortions of female fetuses. This to such a degree that it in 2011 lead to a resolution taken in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, that condemned selective abortions and called on Armenia and Azerbaijan (and Albania) to investigate and monitor the situation, and provide support to awareness-raising initiatives.

Refugees and other displaced people

One of the major consequences of the conflict over Nagorno Karabakh is that hundreds of thousands of people are displaced and living as IDPs (internally displaced persons) and refugees.

Before the conflict Armenians and Azerbaijanis lived intermingled and both republics housed a large minority of the other ethnic group. Due to rising tensions between the groups in the late 1980s an exchange of populations began, sanctioned by the Soviet authorities. When the war erupted and violence flared refugees moved back and forth. Many IDPs and refugees still live in temporary housing and in harsh conditions.

Women’s organizations strive to integrate IDP and refugee women in the local community, provide training to give them a better footing on the job market and monitor and represent their rights. They also work to counteract bitterness and vindictiveness, and post-traumatic stress.